Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Copernicus Award

The Copernicus Award is conferred every two years to two researchers, one in Germany and one in Poland, for outstanding achievements in German-Polish research cooperation in all fields of science and the humanities. It is conferred jointly by the DFG and the Foundation for Polish Science (Fundacja na rzecz Nauki Polskiej, FNP).

The prize money of € 200,000, which is donated by the DFG and the FNP in equal shares, is divided evenly between the laureates. Award winners may use the prize money for any scientific purpose that is within the scope of the funding programmes of both organizations. The funds should be used to further intensify Polish-German research cooperation.

The award is granted on the basis of nominations received by a third party or on the basis of self-nominations. Researchers holding a PhD working at universities and/or research institutions in Germany and Poland are eligible to nominate candidates. Previous laureates and research institutions that are devoted to German-Polish cooperation are invited to propose candidates as well. Laureates will be selected by a jury of six researchers, three of whom are working in Germany and three in Poland. The German jury members will be appointed for a four-year term of office by the DFG's Executive Committee, and the Polish representatives will be selected by the FNP. In order to cover all fields of science and the humanities represented by the candidates, up to four associate jury members may be appointed . The award ceremony will take place alternately in Poland and in Germany.

The next Copernicus Award Ceremony will take place 2022 in Poland.

Awardees and award ceremonies

Further Information